Trim Healthy Mama: Yummy E Pancakes

THM Pancakes

About two months ago, I started the Trim Healthy Mama (THM) Lifestyle. I refrain from calling it a diet because you’ll see some THMs heads turn 360 when you do, but for all intents and purposes of the word diet – your diet is what you eat – and my diet is THM friendly foods.  One of my favorite E breakfast meals are the THM pancakes. I’ve made them several times now and have now perfected my method of making them. Because I respect copyrights, I cannot post the full recipe here, as it belongs to the authors of THM, However, I am sharing how I adjusted their recipe and methods to make the some super yummy THM pancakes that are approved by my kids!

  1. I use my ninja mega kitchen food processor bowl to grind my rolled oats into a fine (the finer you can get them, the better) powder. Any blender should work fine or a coffee grinder (but that would require several small batches to processed).
  2. I place the rolled oat powder into a medium mixing bowl. I add the baking powder, 4 tsp truvia*, and cinnamon**. Combine well. *I use a homemade truvia (it is much cheaper). **The cinnamon is my addition and I use about 1 tsp per batch.
  3. I put 1% fat cottage cheese into my food pro bowl and blend until it looks like a thick milk.
  4. Add blended cottage cheese to oats and stir them together.
  5. I use carton egg whites and put them into my food pro bowl and blend until they have doubled in volume at least and soft peaks forms.
  6. Now, add the egg whites to your oat/cottage cheese mixture. This part take a little while to get the oat mixture to combine. You need to let it sit for about 5 minutes or so to thicken up. This is very important. If you don’t wait, you will have very flat pancakes.
  7. I use the time that the pancake batter is thickening, to pull out my pan, started heating it on a med-low heat.20130907_151658
  8. Once my pan is warm, I make sure to use my laddle to mix the batter up and pull the batter up from the bottom. I like to make large sized pancakes, so I pour in about 1/2 to 3/4 of my laddle. I spray just a titch of grilling Pam* onto my cheap-o, non stick pan and pour the batter in. *I am not sure if Pam is THM compliant, but it has no calories and no fat and I really just spray a tiny dot.20130907_151912
  9. You need to wait until the pancake is almost cook through before you flip. The edges need to be just about dry before you flip. If you don’t wait, you will have a harder time flipping the pancake. The pancake should be a very dark golden brown when you flip it over.20130907_152105
  10. Once it is flipped, the pancake should only need to be cooked for 30-45 secs on the remaining side I usually serve this side face up since it more eye pleasing (at least in my opinion)20130907_152934
  11. Now, just repeat steps 8-10 until all your batter is gone. I usually make a double batch. This double batch got me 12 large pancakes. You can eat 2 of the these sized pancakes for your E meal. Pictured belowed is the back side of the pancakes. I freeze my packages in batches of 2 with a papertowl in between in a quart sized zip lock bag. I just warm them in the microwave for about 45 seconds or pop the frozen pancakes in a toaster for a quick and easy breakfast for me or my kids. My daughter calls them “Mommy’s Pancakes” when asking for them for breakfast.
    20130907_152440

I love cinnamon! So today, I decided to have my THM pancakes topped with truvia sweetened 0% Fage Greek Yogurt and peaches sprinkled with a good dose of cinnamon! YUM!

THM Pancakes Peach

Leave a Reply

