O Christmas Tree

Tonight, I finally finished putting up our Christmas tree. It must be the pregnancy homormones or something, but I really truly enjoy putting up the Christmas tree this year. We have so much history in our ten years together and it’s a nice stroll through memory lane putting up all of our ornanments. A great time to reflect on family and friends. Unfortunatly, some friends for whatever reason are no longer a part of my life. In ways, it is kind of like coming full circle. Jeff has many of his ornanments from his childhood. He has a gold rocking horse enscribed with Ryan. Funny how that ornanment may one day be passed onto our baby boy in the making – if Jeff chooses that for his name (he has not decided as of yet). I have an ornanment that I collected in Germany from a military wife exchange – it is a glass bell (that works) from a wife in Italy. Our church, Shadow Hills, gave us an ornanment last year for Kaylen’s first Christmas – that’s special and grateful that they thought enough of her to make her an ornanment. Of course, there is Jeff and I’s first Christmas ornanment together dated 1999 – given to us by his parents. I have an ornanment that a former co-worker’s wife gave to me with a tray of cookies. It’s cute. I have many ornanments from a shopping spree at Family Christian Store. 🙂 One of them is my one of my favorite ornanments. You can put a light inside of it and it has scene from Christ’s birth. Anyways, I enjoyed the trip down memory lane. I don’t think I’ll ever have a matchy matchy tree – even though I think they are beautiful. For me, Christmas is a time for family and friends and celebrating Christ’s birthday and I like what our Christmas Tree symbolizes. I look forward to building our ornanment collection as our kids grow together and as we create more memories not to be forgotten.

One thought on “O Christmas Tree

  1. My grandmother got each of us an ornament every year until she passed away. I think those are my favorites, every one was given in love and holds very special memories.

    I love the memories that surround Christmas.

Leave a Reply

