Ryan-16 Weeks

Ryan will be exactly 16 weeks tomorrow and I truly have no idea where the time has gone. So much so that yesterday when I counted the weeks on the calender since his birth and it was 16 weeks – I thought there was no way he could be 16 weeks and after some thought, I decided to pull out a spreadsheet and make sure I was counting correctly. And, I was. Yep. He’s four months. A quarter of his first year of life – gone. His newborn days are truly over – which is very bittersweet. Today, we had his four month check up. He weighed in at 13 lbs 7 oz and is 23 1/2 inches long. He is in the 50th percentile for four months old which is pretty good considering he’s seven weeks premature – so he really would be like nine weeks if he was born on his expected due date. I asked the doctor if he was was more like a two month old baby or a four month old baby and the doctor said he is like a four month old baby. However, I think he’s not fully caught up just yet. He hasn’t rolled over yet, but he’s gotten pretty close one time. He is lifting up his head and can pretty much support the weight of his head. We recently started sitting him in his bumbo chair and he can tolerate sitting in it for short period of times before he can’t hold his head up. He was a champ when it came to getting his shot today. He only cried between the time the nurse stuck in needle in to the time I could pick him up – so less than 30 seconds. He smiles a lot now. He started smiling around 12 weeks for small spurts, but now when you give him attention, he will give you a smile. He coos a lot now too. I tell Ryan, “Love You” and he will respond with “A Goo.” He just melts my hearts – especially with all the smiles and cooing. He now also responds to his big sister Kaylen and will smile at her lovingly. Kaylen is such a good big sister to him as well. She always trying to help him – give him his binky and blanket and try to rock him as well. She gives him several unprompted kisses throughout the day. To my worry though, he seems to be a thumb sucker. We haven’t been able to find a pacifer yet that he seems to like as much as his thumb. I just worry about breaking of him of it later. The pacifer you can take away – you can’t chop off his thumb! However, we are very happy with Ryan’s development and still feel very thankful that he hasn’t presented any other major heatlh concerns given his prematurity. I am in a state of shock that he is 16 weeks old. It just doesn’t seem possible. IT REALLY DOES NOT SEEM POSSIBLE. But, it is. *BIG SIGH* I just love these baby days and I just know it’s all going to be over too soon!

Leave a Reply

