Canning Pears

So, canning pears, is exactly the sames as peaches – without the blanching process. I found it to much easier to can the pears. It took us about two hours. I don’t know if that was just because we knew what we were doing this time around. You can find specific instructions here: http://www.pickyourown.org/pdfs/pearscanning.pdf. Here a few photos:

All the pears! A co-worker of mine had a friend that I guess orders pears by the truckload once a year. I was able to get the pears for .66 cents a lb.

These were are the pears all skinned and quartered. Looks a little disgusting if you ask me.

The almost finished product-still needed to be boiled. These I put in the jars myself. The pears alone were super sweet and juicy. They just melted in your mouth! Can't wait to enjoy these after sitting in some nice syrup.

Leave a Reply

