Ryan’s RAWRing Birthday Party

I can’t believe my lil’ man just turned TWO. Ryan loves to RAWR with his dinosaurs, so that I thought it would be perfect to throw him a RAWRing birthday party. As I began to scan the internet for ideas (Pinterest came in handy!) for his party, I found lots of great ideas. I also thought to myself how in the world do these mom put together such elaborate parties!?! This is probably the most elaborate birthday party I have done to date and not quite to the standards of other parties I saw! Surprisingly, I would do it again in a heartbeat! It was a lot of fun to do all the “crafty” things and thank goodness for a dear friend (Shellee) and my husband for helping me late into some nights to help put this party all together! I fell in love with my cricut machine all over again. A lot of what we were able to do was with the help of the Dinosaur Tracks Cricut Cartridge. Thankfully, I was able to borrow it! Although with all the use I got of it, I am considering purchasing it. I see lots of dino related events in our future!

As guest approached our home, we had dinosaur tracks leading up to the entry. One of the boys who attending our party had quite the imagination and said the dinosaurs came into our house and fell into our basement window and came out of the window on our porch. That just made me chuckle and glad that these prints could spark such an imagination! We did also have a inflatable terradactyl flying off the top of our porch, but I forgot to get a picture of that.

We made a Happy Birthday Banner for Ryan…

We got some inflatable dinosaurs for decorations. I found some polka dot ballons which I thought resemble dino eggs. We used green and white streamers all around. Plates and plasticware were green or yellow to keep with the theme.

I also made some dinosaur party hats. I think they came out well. Next time, rubber cemet might be better for making sure the spikes stay on the hats.  We also had the dinosaur fossil cuts out that we taped to the mantel.

We started the party off letting the kids show some dino love by sporting dino tattoos (temporary of course!) Here I am applying a dino tattoo to Kaylen.

After putting on dinosaur tattoos, we had a simple lunch of just hot dogs and chips. We did have some special treats for our guests. I made some “dinosaur eggs.” My friend Shellee made some awesome butterscotch and chocolate dinosaurs. The dinosaur eggs were made by dyeing hard boiled eggs. I cracked the shells before dying them. The butterscotch and chocolate dinosaurs were made pouring the butterscotch/chocolate into molds.

Here is the spread for for lunch.  My husband made the palm trees! We had the chocolate and butterscotch dinosaurs under them. My husband and I made the dinosaur cake. I had a general idea of what I wanted to do for the cake, but it kinda just came together as we made it. We used six bags of jumbo marshmallows, three boxes of cocca and regular rice krispies, 2 lbs of melted chocolate, cinnamon red hots, and crumbled thin mints. The dino claws were just bugles chips. I had hoped to make a decorative dino claws sign, but I ran out of time.

After lunch, we had a dino egg hunt. I had found some camo eggs at walmart (thankfully his party was around Easter making plastic eggs easy to find!). We stuffed the eggs with mini-dinosaurs (also used for cake decorations). The older kids had a great time and the camo eggs proved harder to find. We actually found more eggs when we doing an Easter egg hunt the following weekend with our kids.

Next up was opening presents… I requested no presents for Ryan as he had plenty from family. Due to my generous guests, we got some parents snacks donated for the NICU that I volunteer with and a sponsorship for a local national missionary in Cambodia.

The last event for the day was cake and ice cream!

We had also made favor bags for our guests (which I also forgot pictures of) but in it we had a dinosaur sticker book, extra dinosaur tattoos, and some candy. The most awesome thing in the favor bag were dinosaur crayons made by my friend Shellee. These were mady by the same molds we used for the chocolate.

I just loved how these came out!

So overall, we had a fantastic RAWRing time.

I must also give my friend, Amber, credit for taking most of these wonderful photos. These pictures of Ryan’s RAWRing party will be treasured for the rest of our lives. I’m so thankful she was able to come and celebrate with us and give us these pictures!

One thought on “Ryan’s RAWRing Birthday Party

  1. oh my goodness, what an awesome event!! seems you guys went all out- it looks perfect!! so many cute details, and that cake…wow!!! i wish we could have been there, your hard work definitely paid off! what a cutie, i’m sure he appreciated all the love!

Leave a Reply

