THM Friendly: Almond Joy Fudge

Almond Joy Fudge

Another yummy recipe that I made tonight that was posted in the Trim Healthy Mama Facebook Group: Almond Joy Fudge. I made it tonight and it was very yummy. Another great recipe to have to help satisfy my sweet tooth when it comes up. I love being a Trim Healthy Mama! This would be an S Dessert (or who I am kidding… I’m going to eat this as snack tomorrow)

Here is how I made it:

  • ½ cup unrefined virgin coconut oil
  • 3 Squares of Ghirardelli 86% Cacao Chocolate Baking Bar**
  • 1 tsp of Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 7 tsp of Homemade Truvia Grinded (so it’s like powdered sugar-coffee grinder works best for me)
  • 1/4 tsp of Iodized Sea Salt
  • Chopped Raw Almonds (I used about 15-20 almonds)
  • Coconut Flakes (I used about 1/3 cup)

In small saucepan, melt coconut oil and chocolate squares over low heat until melted. I actually removed it from the heat before it is fully melted because the chocolate and coconut oil melt quickly. I don’t like to heat up the coconut oil more than necessary. Stir in your salt, vanilla, and truvia until combined well. Taste it – add more salt or truvia to please your taste buds. You could add mixture to a blender to make sure your ingredients mix well. Add chopped almonds and coconut flakes until they are saturated in chocolate sauce. I wanted a thicker fudge, so I lined a loaf pan (bread pan) with parchment paper, gave my ingredients once last good stir, pour into the lined pan, and popped it into the freezer.

Freeze until it hardens (about an hour-but you can leave it for as long as you want). After it hardens, cut into pieces and put in ziplock bag or storage container. Store in freezer or fridge until you are ready to eat (it melts quickly). Of course, that is the hardest part is not having more than a couple of pieces at a time!

**Original Posting had 60% Chocolate which I made this with. After a very kind commenter pointed out the carbs, may be too high with 60% chocolate, I’m adjusted the recipe to make it more THM compliant to stay in the S meals which is what I want this to be.

This blog post is linked up at Stacey Makes Cents – be sure to check out her blogs for TONS of delicious recipes (most are THM compliant!). I was highlighted her Trim Healthy Tuesday linkup where you can also find other great linked up THM recipes including her recipe for Spaghetti Squash Primavera!  

86% Chocolate – Limit yourself to 2 pieces and cut into 15 pieces

almond joy fudge 86

almond joy fudge 60

60% – Cut into 15 pieces and limit to 1 piece

Check out Stacey’s and Gwen’s Blog every Tuesday for new recipes for THM!

trim-healthy-tuesdays-banner14

14 thoughts on “THM Friendly: Almond Joy Fudge

    • Yes. If you are a THM, the truvia baking blend is NOT approved, but the regular truvia is. The homemade truvia is just cheaper to make than buying the store bought 🙂

  1. Yummy yum yum!!! Thanks for this! Where did you get the nutrition calculator you used? Seems like even with the 60% this is still well within the guidelines for an S snack. What was the taste difference?

    • I use the recipe calculator from myfitnesspal.com. You don’t have to sign up to use it, only if you want to save the recipe to their data base. The taste difference would just been the “intensiveness” of the chocolate flavor although with the addition of coconut oil, I think it tames down the intensity-so unless you really have an aversion to dark chocolate, I would go with the 86% or higher. 🙂 Enjoy!.

    • I use myfitnesspal.com recipe calculator. You don’t have to sign up to use it – you will just not be able to save the recipes. I take a screen shot of my recipe to save for later use. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      • I love this recipe! Thanks for sharing it! Could you possible make a pin for it? TIA

  2. Pingback: The Ultimate Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Chocolate Dessert Round-Up! 100+ Recipes! {perfect for Valentine's Day...and beyond!) | The Humbled Homemaker

  3. Hey There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. This is an extremely neatly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

